[Skip to Content]

Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers

Scottish Highers

In Scotland Highers are the equivalent of AS Levels and Advanced Highers are the equivalent of A2 Levels.

Scottish Baccalaureate

To cater for brighter students in the fifth and sixth years of secondary education, the Scottish Science Baccalaureate and the Scottish Languages Baccalaureate were launched in 2009, with the first awards being made in 2010. They are made up of existing Higher and Advanced Higher courses: two Advanced Higher Courses and one Higher Course from an approved list of courses (plus an Interdisciplinary Project) have to be successfully passed before a Baccaluareate will be awarded. These are graded Pass or Distinction.


[Back To Top]