947 Windlesham House School Welcome Top

BTEC Diploma

What Is A BTEC Diploma Equivalent To?

BTEC stands for 'Business and Technology Education Council', named after the body which first governed the qualifications (it's now Edexcel). Although they are often compared against A Levels, there are varying levels of BTECs. Here’s the breakdown:

  • Levels 1-2 - GCSE equivalent
  • Level 3 BTECs – A Level equivalent
  • Levels 4-7 - Degree equivalent

Additionally, a BTEC Subsidiary Diploma counts the same as one A Level, a BTEC Diploma is equivalent to two, while a BTEC Extended Diploma counts for three so you can usually study a mix (either of BTECs or BTECS and A Levels) which suits you.

What’s The Difference Between BTEC’s And A Levels?

On the whole, BTECs tend to be more vocational and practical. Subjects such as Business Studies, Engineering, Information Technology and Travel & Tourism tend to be popular BTEC subjects. Meanwhile, A Levels provide you with more traditional subjects, such as English, Maths, History and so on.

Another big difference is that A Levels are geared towards big exams at the end of two years of studying, whereas BTECs are continually assessed throughout the course through coursework and practical projects.
You can study a combination of BTECs and A Levels in some colleges/schools.

Do Universities Accept BTECs?

In the past, universities tended to prefer traditional A Levels, but that’s simply not the case anymore.
Some universities will be happy with just one BTEC (which is equivalent to 3 A Levels), while others will require you to have at least one A Level alongside your BTEC. It is advisable to check the course you’re thinking of applying for to see what the entry requirements are.

How Many UCAS Points Is A BTEC?

If you take a qualification at level 3, you can earn points on the 'UCAS Tariff' for entry into higher education. BTECs can earn you equivalent points to AS and A levels. For example, a BTEC National Diploma with overall three merit (M) grades has 240 UCAS points (one A level with A grade has 120 UCAS points).

St Marys Calne Open Day Ad Feb 2024
Concord College Rectangle General 22 Nov 2023
Lord Wandsworth Recatangle 20 Nov
Jerudong international school rectangle Dec 2023