Lord Wandsworth Leaderboard

Pocklington School’s new BTEC courses reflect individually-focused learning

Published on isbi School News dated Monday 8th of May 2017

Pocklington School is to offer BTEC Level 3 National Diplomas in Sport and Digital Publishing to its Sixth Form students, as part of its commitment to offering a breadth of opportunity in its curriculum. BTECs are specialist work-related qualifications which combine practical learning with subject and theory content. Each BTEC offered is equivalent to two A levels, with equivalent UCAS tariffs. Laura Powell, Curriculum Director, Pocklington School, said: “We are excited by the breadth and flexibility of opportunity which these two qualifications will offer to our Sixth Form pupils. A BTEC in Sport or Digital Publishing, along with a complementary A level subject, will give pupils the opportunity to achieve their aspirations and decide on the type of career they wish to pursue.” She added: “We take an individual approach to learning, and our priority is giving every pupil a chance to develop their own particular strengths. A personal study portfolio they find enjoyable and stimulating gives them every chance to grow confidence in their ability, as well as to achieve the best grades.” The BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Digital Publishing includes mandatory units on digital media skills, responding to a commission, website production and media enterprise. Students have a choice of other units including digital photography, writing copy, and app production. The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Sport has mandatory units in anatomy and physiology; fitness training and programming for health, sport and wellbeing, and professional development in the sports industry. Optional units include sports leadership and sports psychology. BTEC has earned a worldwide reputation as a respected applied learning qualification well regarded by universities, further education colleges, and employers. Achievement in the qualification requires a demonstration of depth of study, a range of practical skills required for employment or progression to Higher Education, and the successful development of transferable skills. Alongside A levels, BTEC Nationals are the most widely-recognised qualification for admission to higher education. In 2015, 95% of UK universities and colleges accepted students with BTEC qualifications. Both new BTECs will be offered at Pocklington School Sixth Form from September 2017. Entry requirements to study the BTECs will be 4 B grades and 2 C grades at GCSE, as is currently the case for 6th Form entry.
Pocklington School’s new BTEC courses reflect individually-focused learning   - Photo 1Pocklington School’s new BTEC courses reflect individually-focused learning   - Photo 2
Aysgarth An Exciting New Chapter
Cobham Hall Location page
Windlesham House rectangular 18 Oct 2023