753 Benenden School Open Day Top

Millfield Music launch Millfield Musician of the Year

Published Monday 12th of February 2018 09:42:22 AM

Three Millfield musicians have been announced as Millfield’s very first Musicians of the Year. Year 10 violinist and soprano Annabella Dawkins won Overall Instrumentalist of the Year and Junior Vocalist of the Year, Upper Sixth pupil and soprano Tanwen Cray won Overall Vocalist of the Year, and Year 10 pupil and trumpet player Kitty Chapple was the winner of the grade 5-6 Instrumental Class. In the inaugural competition, over 100 performances took place as musicians of all ages and abilities performed in instrumental and vocal categories to be named Millfield’s Musician of the Year. The Junior Categories were contested by Instrumentalists at Grade 5-6 standard and vocalists from Year 9 & 10 and the Senior Categories were contested by Instrumentalists at Grade 7 standard and vocalists from Year 11 and the Sixth Form. The week of category rounds culminated in the final in the Johnson Hall, where the 10 finalists performed once again to an audience of family, friends and judges, including guest adjudicator Mark Stringer, Director of Music at Wells Cathedral School. See results from the initial heats below, and view a selection of photos from the evening here and watch a video of the performances here. Wind/Brass and Percussion class Grades 1-4 Ikey Morland (winner) Grades 5-6 Kitty Chapple (winner) Florence Lunnon (Highly Commended) Jevon Hughes (Highly Commended) Grade 7 Peter Chan (winner) Tom Bradley (Highly Commended) Travis Titley (Highly Commended) Vocal Class Musical Theatre/Jazz Years 9-10 Kitty Chapple (winner) Musical Theatre/Jazz Years 11-13 Bethan Close (winner) Elenice Andrews (Highly Commended) Classical Years 9-10 Annabella Dawkins (winner) Caragh Norris (Highly Commended) Andrew Penney (Highly Commended) Classical Years 11-13 Isabelle Barber (winner) Tanwen Cray (Highly Commended) Florence Lunnon (Highly Commended) Contemporary Years 9-10 Caity Collins (winner) Jobim Ffrench (Highly Commended) Contemporary Years 11-13 Oska Zaky (winner) Rosie Smith (Highly Commended) String Class Grade 1-4 Jo Maddock (winner) Grade 5-6 Rosa Launder (winner) Jerald Chan (Highly Commended) Sophia Hinteregger (Highly Commended) Grade 7 Annabella Dawkins (winner) Isabelle Barber (Highly Commended) Woody Taylor (Highly Commended) Hamish Barry (Highly Commended) Isaac Hughes (Highly Commended) Piano Class Grades 1-4 Sean Tsai (winner) Clarissa Jackson (Highly Commended) Grades 5-6 Emily Bradshaw (winner) Emily Paterson (Highly Commended) Grade 7 Yuhka Machino (winner) Ornella Hutchison (Highly Commended) Cecily Turner (Highly Commended) Steven Zhu (Highly Commended)
Photo 1
isbi Search Select 28 July 2022
582 ACS Egham International School Open Day Medium
753 Benenden School Open Day Medium
isbi Text Photos Advert 1
111 Sherborne School Open Day Medium